When I was planning to start running Zaliwana Accessories, one of the places I enjoyed visiting and which greatly inspired me was the 19th Century recreated Hungarian house.

I saw a lot of similarities between our current interiors and those of more than 100 years ago. As in modern houses, the walls were painted white. In these old houses, this was a white created with limestone which gave a very clinical atmosphere and contrast with the ornaments which were hung on the walls.

Naturally, the pottery consisting of water jugs, jars, pots, plates and mugs were some of my favourite decorations.  Equally beautiful are the greens, blues and browns.

The sleeping quarters (bedrooms) were used as a dining area as well.

Wooden shelves were used to hold a variety of kitchen utensils, plates, bowls,vases and pots.

 

